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NOTICE TO READERS 
 

 

This report summarizes the laws enacted during the 2013 regular 
session (i.e., public acts (PAs)) that affect the ability of many different 
kinds of businesses to expand and create jobs. It does not summarize 

acts that affect only specific types of businesses.    
 

In summarizing acts affecting business and jobs, the report provides 
enough information to help readers decide whether to obtain the more 
detailed OLR analysis of an act or its full text. Readers can obtain the 

former at www.cga.ct.gov/olr; they can obtain the act’s full text at 
www.cga.ct.gov or from the Connecticut State Library or the House 

Clerk’s Office.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/olr
http://www.cga.ct.gov/
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ARMED FORCES SERVICE 
MEMBERS AND VETERANS 

Military Leave 

 

Employees serving in the state 
armed forces taking time from 
their jobs to perform ordered 

military duty now enjoy the same 
protections as those serving in 

the U.S. armed forces reserves or 
the National Guard. Ordered 
military duty now includes any 

such duty, not just meetings and 
drills.  

(PA 13-49, effective October 1, 

2013)  
 

Veterans STEP Expanded 

 
Employers hiring any 

honorably discharged U.S. armed 
forces members who served for at 
least 90 days, regardless of 

whether that time was spent in 
combat, now qualify for wage 

subsidies and training grants 
under the Labor Department’s 
Unemployed Armed Forces 

Subsidized Training and 
Employment Program.  

(PA 13-63, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Veteran-Owned Small Business 
Registry 

 

DECD must establish and 
maintain a registry of small 

businesses owned and controlled 
by veterans, including those with 
service-related disabilities. 

(PA 13-247, § 134, effective 
upon passage) 

BUSINESS LAW AND PRACTICE 

Professional Engineer Licenses 

 
Consumer Protection 

Department regulations must 

now allow licensed professional 
engineers to (1) surrender their 

licenses to the State Board of 
Examiners for Professional 
Engineers and Land Surveyors 

while living and working outside 
Connecticut and (2) get a new 
license without having to pay the 

annual $225 renewal fee for the 
hiatus period if they return and 

want to resume working here.  
(PA 13-216, effective upon 

passage)  
 
Diesel Sales  

 

Under a new law, anyone 
selling diesel must publicly 

display and maintain the 
minimum cetane number on 
each diesel pump or other 

dispensing device intended as 
fuel for motor boats or vehicles or 

risk paying a fine that can range 
from $50 to $250.  

(PA 13-270, effective January 

1, 2014) 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=49&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=16&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=63&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=6
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=5
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=216&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=18&SUBMIT1.y=7
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=270&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=13
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Citing Statutory Authority for 
Regulatory Actions  

 
All state agencies taking 

certain regulatory actions under 
the Uniform Administrative 
Procedure Act must cite the legal 

authority for their actions.  
(PA 13-279, effective October 

1, 2013)  

CAMPAIGN FINANCING 

The changes made to the 
campaign finance laws include:  

1. authorizing persons, not 
only individuals, entities, 
and committees, to make 

unlimited independent 
expenditures (IEs);  

2. authorizing persons to 
accept unlimited covered 
transfers;  

3. changing reporting and 
disclaimer requirements for 
IEs and establishing them 

for covered transfers;  
4. specifying that political 

committees do not have to 
register with State 
Elections Enforcement 

Commission (SEEC) if they 
will make only IEs;  

5. expanding contribution 
and expenditure 
exemptions;  

6. raising various 
contribution limits; 

7. increasing maximum 

penalties for failure to file 
IE reports and knowing 

and willful campaign 
finance violations; and  

8. authorizing SEEC to waive 
penalties associated with 

certain reports that were 
due in January 2012 and 

modifing what constitutes 
a timely filing.  

(PA 13-180, effective upon 

passage) 

CONSUMER PROTECTION 

Price Gouging  

 
The legislature extended the 

ban on excessive price increases 

to goods and services sold during 
any state-proclaimed weather 
emergency. The ban applies to 

goods and services necessary for 
consumer health, safety, or 

welfare and used primarily for 
personal, family, or household 
purposes.  The ban does not 

apply to gasoline stations and 
other energy resource sellers 
already covered under a different 

price gouging law.  
(PA 13-175, effective upon 

passage) 
 
Consumer Protection 

 
The legislature made many 

unrelated changes to the 
consumer protection laws, 
including:  

1. allowing online posting of 
regulations and rosters of 
certain registered or 

licensed professionals to 
fulfill certain publishing 

and distribution 
requirements,  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=279&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=180&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=18&SUBMIT1.y=6
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=175&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=10
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2. allowing permit and license 
applicants with lapsed 

licenses to apply for 
reinstatement to the 

appropriate Department of 
Consumer Protection 
board,  

3. extending certain 
consumer protections to 
buying clubs that offer 

services, and  
4. imposing home 

improvement contractor 
penalties on people who 
propose or offer to do work 

without a certificate.  
(PA 13-196, effective upon 

passage)  

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Collateral Requirement 

 

Under a new law, businesses 
awarded grants under the Small 
Business Express and other 

economic development programs 
no longer have to provide 

collateral.  
(PA 13-45, effective upon 

passage) 
 
Electronic Business Portal 

 
Under a new law, any 

electronic business portal the 

Department of Economic and 
Community Development (DECD) 
creates must, among other 

things, complement the online 
business assistance information 

the Connecticut Economic 
Resource Center provides and 
allow municipalities to promote 

their economic development 
resources.  

(PA 13-46, effective October 1, 
2013)  

 
Encouraging Exports 

 

DECD can give priority for 
economic development assistance 
to businesses seeking to export 

their products or services to 
foreign markets.  

(PA 13-56, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Bonds for Economic 
Development 

 
The legislature authorized up 

to (1) $100 million in bonds for 

the Small Business Express 
(Loan) Program ($50 million 
effective July 1, 2013 and $50 

million effective July 1, 2014) 
and (2) $30 million in bonds for 

brownfield remediation ($20 
million effective July 1, 2013 and 
$10 million effective July 1, 

2014).  
(PA 13-239)   
 

Bioscience Innovation  

 

The legislature established the 
Connecticut Bioscience 
Innovation Fund to finance a 

wide range of commercially viable 
bioscience projects and 

authorized up to $200 million in 
bonds over 10 years to fund 
them.  

(PA 13-239, §§ 70-73, 
effective upon passage) 
 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=196&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=3
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=45&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=46&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=14
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=56&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=5&SUBMIT1.y=4
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=6
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=239&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=6
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Property Tax Incentives for 
New Development 

 
The legislature reduced, from 

$25,000 to $10,000, the 
minimum investment a developer 
must make to qualify for a 

property tax exemption 
municipalities may offer, and 
made it easier for them to 

designate areas where they can 
defer increases in property values 

attributable to new construction.   
(PA 13-246, effective October 

1, 2013) 

 
“First Five” Program Extension 

 
The legislature extended the 

First Five Program by two years, 

from June 30, 2013 to June 30, 
2015.  Under the program DECD 
can provide substantial financial 

assistance for business 
development projects that can 

create jobs and invest funds 
within specified timeframes.  

(PA 13-247, § 132, effective 

July 1, 2013) 
 
Filming Permit 

 
A new law allows the 

transportation commissioner to 
issue permits for filming movies 
on state highway right-of-way or 

property in Transportation 
Department custody or control. 

The state is not liable for injuries 
or damages to any person or 
property resulting from these 

activities.   
(PA 13-277, § 4, effective 

October 1, 2013) 

Brownfield Remediation  

 

A new law consolidating and 
reorganizing the state’s 

brownfield cleanup programs 
allows developers to use funds to 
reduce blight and relieves them 

of the statutory penalties for (1) 
relocating out of Connecticut 
within 10 years after receiving 

economic development assistance 
and (2) failing to create or retain 

the number of jobs stipulated in 
the assistance agreements.   

(PA 13-308, most provisions 

effective July 1, 2013; see Land 
Use and Environment for other 

brownfield related laws) 

ENERGY  

Commercial Property Assessed 
Clean Energy Program 

Expansion 

 
District heating and cooling 

and solar thermal or geothermal 
system projects now qualify for 

financing under the Commercial 
Property Assessed Clean Energy 
(C-PACE) program.  

(PA 13-116, effective upon 
passage)  
 
Utility Law Changes  

 

The legislature made several 
unrelated energy law changes, 
including:  

1. requiring electric suppliers 
to notify residential 

customers about rate 
changes 30 to 60 days 
before their fixed term 

expires,  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=246&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=17&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=277&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=17&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=308&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=14
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=116&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=8
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2. imposing disclosure 
requirements on suppliers 

offering power generated 
from renewable energy 

sources,  
3. transferring several 

regulatory powers from the 

Department of Energy and 
Environmental Protection 
(DEEP) to the Public 

Utilities Regulatory 
Authority (PURA),  

4. extending PURA’s deadline 
for  issuing preliminary 
findings on utility company 

employees alleging 
whistleblower retaliation, 

and  
5. allowing it to hold multiple 

hearings on proposed rate 

amendments.  
(PA 13-119, effective October 

1, 2013, except for whistleblower 

protections and other specified 
provisions, which take effect 

upon passage) 
 

Electric Generation Tax 

 
The legislature extended the 

temporary tax on electric 

generation facilities for an 
additional three months, from 

July 1, 2013 to October 1, 2013.   
(PA 13-184, § 76, effective 

upon passage)  

FINANCE, INSURANCE, AND 
REAL ESTATE 

Insurance Coverage for Autism 
Spectrum Disorders 

 
A new law requires certain 

health insurance policies to at 

least maintain current benefit 
levels for insureds diagnosed 
with autism spectrum disorder 

before the (fifth) edition of the 
Diagnostic and Statistical 

Manual of Mental Disorders was 
released (i.e., May 2013). This 
requirement applies to individual 

and group health insurance 
policies delivered, issued, 

renewed, amended, or continued 
in Connecticut that cover (1) 
basic hospital expenses; (2) basic 

medical-surgical expenses; (3) 
major medical expenses; and (4) 
hospital or medical services, 

including coverage under an 
HMO plan.  

(PA 13-84, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Connecticut Uniform 
Securities Act Changes 

 

Among other things, a new 
law alters which securities are 

exempt from registering and 
filing certain sales materials for 
prospective investors with the 

banking commissioner and 
specifies the notice and fee 

closed-end companies must 
provide to him when offering 
securities here.  

(PA 13-106, effective October 
1, 2013)  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=119&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=16&SUBMIT1.y=14
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=84&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=14
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=106&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=10
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Property and Casualty 
Insurance Policies and Public 

Adjuster Contracts  

 

A new law (1) bans insurers 
from declining, cancelling, or 
failing to renew a homeowner 

policy or increasing its cost in 
several circumstances and (2) 
requires policies covering real 

property ensure that the replaced 
surroundings of a damaged item 

match the item’s quality and 
kind.  It also increases the time 
for insureds to rescind contracts 

with public adjusters and 
requires cancelation provisions to 

appear on a contract’s first page.  
(PA 13-138, effective October 

1, 2013) 

 
Deadline for Filing Enterprise 
Risk Reports  

 
Insurers have until June 1, 

2014 to file their first enterprise 
risk reports, which, by law, must 
identify any circumstance 

involving one or more of their 
affiliates that could harm an 
insurer’s financial condition or 

liquidity or that of its holding 
company system.  

(PA 13-147, effective upon 
passage) 

 
Mediation Program for 
Insurance Claim Disputes 

 
A new Insurance Department 

program allows insureds and 

insurance companies to settle 
claim disputes involving losses 

from catastrophic events 
occurring during a 

gubernatorialy declared state of 
emergency.  

(PA 13-148, effective October 
1, 2013) 

(See also Taxes and Fees for 

more laws affecting insurance)  

GOVERNMENT CONTRACTING 

Municipal Contracting  

 
A new law gives municipalities 

more flexibility when procuring 

goods and services by increasing, 
from $7,500 to $25,000, the 
maximum value of contracts or 

purchases they can exempt, by 
ordinance, from sealed bidding 

procedures.  
(PA 13-71, effective October 1, 

2013) 

 
Metropolitan District 
Commission (MDC) Set-aside 

Contracts 

 

The Hartford region MDC 
must now participate in the 
state’s small and minority 

business set-aside program, and 
MDC contracts must include the 

same nondiscrimination 
provisions used in state 
contracts. 

(PA 13-247, § 24, effective 
July 1, 2013) 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=138&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=7
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=147&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=14&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=148&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=2&SUBMIT1.y=5
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=71&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=12
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HOUSING 

Paying Rent by Electronic 
Transfer 

 
For residential leases or rental 

agreements executed on or after 
October 1, 2013, landlords 
cannot require tenants to pay 

rent or security deposits by 
electronic funds transfer. 

(PA 13-35, effective October 1, 
2013)  

LABOR 

Income Tax Withholding 

 
A Connecticut employer can 

now withhold a portion of an 
employee’s wages as required by 
another state’s income tax laws if 

the employee (1) works for the 
employer in the other state or (2) 
resides in the other state, 

regardless of whether the other 
state has a reciprocal agreement 

with Connecticut.  
(PA 13-8, effective October 1, 

2013) 

 
Expanded Mandated Reporter 
Protections 

 
The legislature extended 

mandated reporter protections by 
prohibiting employers from 
hindering or preventing, or 

attempting to hinder or prevent, 
covered employees from making 

good faith efforts to report child 
abuse or neglect or testify in a 
proceeding regarding such 

allegations. It also prohibits 
employers from discharging, 

disciplining, or otherwise 
penalizing such employees for 

reporting suspected child abuse 
or neglect.  

(PA 13-53, effective October 1, 
2013) 

 
Minimum Wage Increase  

 
The legislature increased the 

hourly minimum wage from 
$8.25 to $8.70 on January 1, 

2014 and from $8.70 to $9.00 on 
January 1, 2015. It also 
increased the “tip credit” in each 

of those years to keep the 
employer’s share of (1) hotel and 

wait staff's wages at its current 
$5.69 and (2) bartenders’ wages 
at its current $7.34.  

(PA 13-117, effective July 1, 
2013) 

 
Miscellaneous Labor Law 
Changes 

 
Changes to the labor laws 

include:  

1. requiring the Labor 
Department to share 
unemployment information 

with nonpublic entities 
hired to administer the 

unemployment system and 
third parties with the 
written consent of the 

individual or employer to 
whom the information 

pertains; 
2. eliminating the ban on 

awarding state contracts to 

people or businesses the 
Labor Department listed as 
volating the National Labor 

Relations Act or being in 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=35&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=8&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=17&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=53&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=117&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=12
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contempt of court for 
failing to remedy violations 

at least three times over 
five years; and  

3. eliminating several 
reporting requirements, 
including employer reports 

on the Family Medical 
Leave Act’s effects.  

(PA 13-140, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Electronically Filing Quarterly 
Unemployment Tax Returns  

 

Beginning with 2014’s first 
calendar quarter, all employers 

subject to the state’s 
unemployment law, or their 
reporting agents, must submit 

their quarterly wage reports to 
the Labor Department on 
magnetic tape, diskette, or other 

electronic means the department 
prescribes. Employers or agents 

that directly reimburse the 
unemployment system for 
benefits paid to former employees 

(e.g., state and local 
governments) must pay 
electronically.  

(PA 13-141, effective January 
1, 2014) 

 
Employee Access to Personnel 
Files  

 
The legislature set some new 

ground rules regarding employee 
files and records. It specified how 
quickly employers must provide 

access to personnel files and 
required them to give employees 
copies of documents pertaining 

to any disciplinary action or 

termination. It also required 
employers to notify employees 

that they can place in their files 
statements disagreeing with any 

information in a disciplinary, 
termination, or evaluation 
document. Businesses violating 

these ground rules face penalties 
of up to $500 for first violations 
and up to $1,000 for subsequent 

ones.  
(PA 13-176, effective October 

1, 2013) 
 

Employer Electronic 

Notification 

 

Employers must electronically 
notify the labor commissioner 
within 30 days (1) after becoming 

subject to the state’s 
unemployment law and (2) 
acquiring substantially all of the 

assets of an another employer 
subject to that law. Employers 

failing to comply with these 
notice requirements face a $50 
per violation civil penalty. 

(PA 13-288, effective October 
1, 2013) 

 
Quarterly Wage Reports 

 

Employers must pay a $25 fee 
if they fail to submit their 
required quarterly wage reports 

under a proper state 
unemployment compensation 

registration number. They must 
already pay a $25 fee if they fail 
to submit these reports in a 

timely manner.   

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=2&SUBMIT1.y=7
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=141&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=176&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=6
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=288&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=18&SUBMIT1.y=10
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(PA 13-288, effective October 
1, 2013) 

(See Workforce Development 
for more labor related laws)  

LAND USE AND ENVIRONMENT 

Selling Locally Grown Poultry 
in Connecticut Food Markets  

 

A new law allows certain 
poultry facilities to sell poultry to 

grocery stores and other retail 
food establishments. 

(PA 13-38, effective upon 

passage)  
 

Mattress Stewardship Program  

 
A new law requires mattress 

producers to take the lead in 
managing discarded mattresses. 
Producers must form a nonprofit 

recycling council for this purpose 
and cover its costs with the 
proceeds of a new fee the state 

imposes on mattresses sold in 
Connecticut. Producers that do 

not participate in this program 
cannot sell mattresses here.  

(PA 13-42, effective October 1, 

2014, except for the fee 
requirement, which takes effect 

July 1, 2014) 
 

Promoting Connecticut Food 

Products 

 
When purchasing or 

contracting for beef, pork, lamb, 
or farm-raised fish, the 

administrative services 
commissioner can now give 
preferences to such products 

produced or grown in 

Connecticut that cost about the 
same as those produced or grown 

out of state.  Also, the agriculture 
commissioner can promote, upon 

request, individual farmers’ 
markets.  

(PA 13-72, effective upon 

passage) 
 

Gasoline Vapor Recovery 

Systems  

 

In line with new technologies 
and federal regulatory changes, 
gas stations and other gasoline 

dispensing facilities no longer 
have to install stage II vapor 

recovery systems and must 
decommission the ones they have 
installed. Facilities with vapor I 

recovery systems must annually 
test them for pressure decay and 
comply with DEEP notice 

requirements. 
(PA 13-120, effective upon 

passage)  
 

Genetically Engineered Food  

 
Genetically engineered foods 

intended for human consumption 

and the seed or seed stock used 
to produce them must now be 

labeled as such under a new law, 
which goes into effect the 
October following the enactment 

of similar laws in four other 
states meeting specified criteria.  

After the law takes effect, 
violators face a daily fine of up to 
$1,000 per product, but retailers 

are liable only under certain 
conditions.  

(PA 13-183, effective October 

1, 2013) 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=288&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=5&SUBMIT1.y=6
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=38&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=5
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=42&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=72&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=10&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=120&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=15&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=183&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=3
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Aquaculture and Seaweed 
Cultivation 

 
Aquaculture producers can 

now cultivate seaweed and other 
aquatic plants in Connecticut’s 
coastal waters, subject to 

Department of Agriculture 
licensing and inspection 
requirements.   

(PA 13-238, effective upon 
passage) 

 
On-site Sewage Disposal 
Systems  

 
A new law extends the permit 

and approval validity period to 
nine years for certain septic 
systems with a daily capacity of 

less than 5,000 gallons issued 
before July 1, 2011 and that 
have not expired by July 1, 2013.   

(PA 13-257, effective upon 
passage)  

 
Recycling  

 

Changes to the state’s solid 
waste management laws include: 

1. exempting certain solid 

waste and used material 
transporters from 

registration and reporting 
requirements applicable to 
solid waste collectors, 

2. increasing the information 
scrap metal processors 

must provide to the DEEP 
commissioner to be exempt 
from needing a solid waste 

facility permit, and  

3. broadening the scope of 
the law requiring certain 

organic materials 
generators to separate the 

materials from other solid 
waste and recycle them at 
composting facilities.   

(PA 13-285, most provisions 
effective October 1, 2013) 

 
Mitigating Environmental 
Hazards  

 
Among other things, a new 

law: 

1. expands the requirements 
for notifying DEEP and 

other parties about 
different types of 
environmental hazards,  

2. allows property owners to 
execute and record in local 
land records a notice of 

activity and use 
restrictions,  

3. establishes a new program 
protecting brownfield 
developers from liaiblity 

under specified conditions,  
4. sets conditions under 

which the DEEP 

commissioner must 
shorten his deadline for 

deciding whether he will 
audit a remediated site, 
and 

5. requires him to evaluate 
DEEP’s methods for 

assessing the risks 
environmental hazards 
pose.   

(PA 13-308, various effective 
dates) 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=238&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=257&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=15&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=285&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=7&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=308&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=8
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TAXES AND FEES 

Business Tax Credits and 
Exemptions     

 
New laws made many changes 

to the state’s business tax credit 
programs. They: 

1. eliminate the credit for 

hiring temporary family 
assistance program 

recipients (PA 13-140, 
effective upon passage); 

2. extend to 2013 and 2014 

the temporary cap on the 
maximum insurance 
premium tax liability that 

an insurer may offset 
through tax credits, thus 

reimposing the lower cap 
on the film production and 
entertainment 

infrastructure credits that 
applied under existing law 
in 2011 (PA 13-184, § 70, 

effective July 1, 2013);  
3. with one exception, 

establish a two-year 
moratorium on film 
production tax credits for 

motion pictures for FYs 14 
and 15 (PA 13-247, § 129, 

effective July 1, 2013 and 
applicable to credits issued 
on or after that date);  

4. allows the DECD 
commissioner to pay 
taxpayers holding urban 

and industrial sites 
reinvestment tax credits for 

their credit eligibility 
certificates and authorizes 
up to $40 million in bonds 

for this purpose, $20 

million of which is 
available on July 1, 2014. 

(PA 13-184 § 95, effective 
July 1, 2013); 

5. exempts from the 
petroleum products gross 
earnings tax the (a) first 

sale of cosmetic grade 
mineral oil sold on or after 
July 1, 2013 (PA 232, §§ 

3&4, effective July 1, 2013) 
and (b) propane gas used 

for school bus fuel (PA 13-
247, § 66, effective July 1, 
2013);  

6. extends a credit against 
the petroleum products 

gross earnings tax to the 
first sale of petroleum 
products to a purchaser 

who then incorporates 
them into paint, coating, or 
adhesive material for use 

or sale outside Connecticut 
(PA 13-232, §§ 3&4, 

effective July 1, 2015 and 
applicable to quarterly 
periods beginning on or 

after than date); 
7. establishes the order in 

which insurers must claim 

multiple credits in a 
calender year (PA 13-232, 

§ 7, effective upon passage 
and applicable to calender 
years beginning on and 

after January 1, 2013); 
8. extend, from 15 years to 25 

years, the maximum period 
for carrying forward the 
credit for donating land for 

educational purposes (PA 
13-232, §§ 8&9, effective  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=3&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=14&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=11&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=7
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=247&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=7
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=13
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July 1, 2013 and 
applicable to income years 

beginning on or after 
January 1, 2013); 

9. allows taxpayers to whom 
film infrastructure tax 
credits were assigned to 

carry them forward for up 
to three years (PA 13-232, 
§ 10, effective upon 

passage);   
10. allows the DECD 

commissioner to limit the 
period for claiming the 
three-year job expansion 

tax credits and imposes an 
aggregate credit cap for the 

years they may be claimed 
(PA 232, § 11, effective 
July 1, 2013); 

11. increases the credit for 
hiring manufacturing 
trades apprentices, from 

$4 to $6 per hour and 
raises the annual cap on 

the amount of credits 
businesses can claim per 
apprentice, from $4,800 or 

50% of the actual 
apprentice wages, 
whichever is less, to 

$7,500 or 50% of such 
wages, whichever is less 

(PA 13-265, effective July 
1, 2015 and applicable to 
income years beginning on 

or after January 1, 2015); 
and  

12. makes it easier for 
individuals and nonrprofit 
organizations to access the 

historic home 
rehabilitation tax credit, 
which they assign to 

businesses in exchange for 

contributrions (PA 13-266, 
effective July 1, 2015, and 

applicable to income years 
beginning on or after 

January 1, 2015). 
 

Tax Administration 

 
The legislature enacted 

several laws changing how the 

state administers various tax 
laws. PA 13-150:  

1. increases, from $500 to 
$1,000, the threshold for 
penalty waivers requiring 

Penalty Review Committee 
review and approval;  

2. imposes, on anyone 
conducting business 
without a sales tax permit, 

a civil penalty of $250 for 
the first day, and $100 for 
each subsequent day; and  

3. bars the commissioner 
from issuing or renewing 

certain permits and 
licenses for anyone he 
determines owes state 

taxes for which all 
administrative or judicial 
remedies have expired or 

been exhausted.  
(Effective July 1, 2013) 

PA 13-184, § 70, authorizes 
tax amnesty for individuals, 
business, and other types of 

taxpayers that owe Connecticut 
taxes (other than motor carrier 

road taxes) from September 16, 
2013 to November 15, 2013, 
applicable to any taxable period 

ending on or before November 
30, 2012.  

(Effective July 1, 2013) 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=2&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=2&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=2&SUBMIT1.y=12
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=265&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=11
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=266&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=10
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=150&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=13&SUBMIT1.y=10


   

August 6, 2013 Page 18 of 19 2013-R-0249 

 

Among other things, PA 13-
232: 

1. reduces the period during 
which the state must pay 

interest on overpayments 
of gift, estate, and gross 
earnings taxes (§§ 1&2 and 

5&6, effective July 1, 2013 
and applicable to refunds 
issued on or after that 

date); 
2. requires captive insurance 

companies to pay premium 
taxes on assumed 
reinsurance premiums by 

March 1 annually, rather 
than in March (§ 15, 

effective July 1, 2013); and  
3. permits insurance 

companies and HMOs to 

transfer to their affiliates 
an insurance premium tax 
credit that, under prior 

law, could not be 
transferred or assigned (§ 

17, effective July 1, 2015 
and applicable to calender 
years beginning on or after 

January 1, 2015).  
(See Finance, Insurance, and 

Real Estate section for other laws 

affecting insurance.)  
 

Corporation Income Tax 
Surcharge 

 

The legislature extended the 
temporary 20% corporation 

income tax surcharge for two 
additional years, to the 2014 and 
2015 income years.  

(PA 13-184, §§ 73-74, 
effective upon passage) 

 

Sales and Use Tax on Boats 

 

The legislature (1) exempted 
from the sales and use tax boats 

docked in Connecticut for 60 
days or less and (2) reduced, 
from 7% to 6.35%, the sales and 

use tax rate on boats costing 
more than $100,000.  

(PA 13-184, §§ 77-78, 

effective July 1, 2013) 
 

Sales and Use Tax Exemption 
for Clothing and Footwear 

 

Starting June 1, 2015, the 
legislature exempted from the 

6.35% sales and use tax most 
clothing and footwear costing 
less than $50.  

(PA 13-184, § 79, effective 
July 1, 2013)  

 
Sales Tax Remittance Program 

 

For the taxable periods from 
October 1, 2013, to April 1, 
2014, the revenue services 

commissioner can require 
retailers and other taxpayers who 
fall behind in paying sales taxes 

to electronically remit the tax due 
on sales transacted with credit or 

debit cards or electronic transfer.  
(PA 13-184, §§ 80-81, 

effective July 1, 2013) 

 
Recording Fees 

 
A new law increases the fees a 

“nominee of a mortgage” must 

pay town clerks when recording 
warranty deeds, quitclaim deeds, 
mortgage deeds, and other 

mortgage documents.  

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=13&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=232&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=13&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=3
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=3
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=3
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=3
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(PA 13-184, §§ 97-98, 
effective July 1, 2013) 

TRANSPORTATION  

Vehicles Hauling Agricultural 
Commodities 

 
A new law potentially 

increases the maximum 

allowable weight of certain 
commercial vehicles traveling in 

Connecticut if Congress also 
allows this.  It specifically allows 
both (1) bulk milk tankers and 

(2) trucks hauling feed, seed, and 
other agricultural commodities, 
to have a gross vehicle weight of 

up to 100,000 pounds.  
(PA 13-277, effective October 

1, 2013) 

WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT  

Individual Development 
Account (IDA) Program 

Changes 

 

People participating in the IDA 
program can use their accounts 
for more purposes, including 

education or job training and 
starting or joining a business. 
The program helps low-income 

people build assets by matching 
the amounts they save up to 

$3,000 per participant.  
(PA 13-140, effective upon 

passage) 

 
Incumbent Worker Training 

Program 

 
The legislature renamed the 

former Twenty-First Century Skill 
Training Program the Incumbent 

Worker Training Program and 
required half the program’s funds 

go to businesses that did not 
receiving funding during the 

three previous years.  
(PA 13-140, effective upon 

passage) 

 
Janitorial Work Pilot Program  

 

The legislature made 
permanent the 2006 janitorial 

work pilot program for people 
with a disability or a 
disadvantage, extending with 

some modifications, the pilot 
program’s existing requirements 

and establishing new ones and 
opening the program to the 
Board of Regents for Higher 

Education and the Judicial 
Branch.  

(PA 13-227, effective October 

1, 2013) 
 

Next Generation Connecticut  

 
A new law authorizing $1.551 

billion in bonds for capital 
improvements at UConn requires 
the university to consult with 

science, technology, engineering, 
and math-based industry leaders 

on where and how to spend these 
funds. 

(PA 13-233, effective July 1, 

2013)   
 

JR:ts 

http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=184&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=9&SUBMIT1.y=3
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=277&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=8&SUBMIT1.y=9
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=2
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=140&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=12&SUBMIT1.y=2
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=227&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=4&SUBMIT1.y=8
http://cga.ct.gov/asp/cgabillstatus/cgabillstatus.asp?selBillType=Public+Act&bill_num=233&which_year=2013&SUBMIT1.x=6&SUBMIT1.y=14

